How to Make Fire-Starting Char Cloth

How I Make Char Cloth

by PapaD

You will hear me refer to char cloth or ash cloth. This is one of two posts I have made here so far about how to make it. Knowing what to use as easily ignitable tinders is important when making fire. The substances vary from naturally occurring plant fibers to charred materials such as char cloth. When experimenting with different ways of making fire, it is useful to have a ready material such as char cloth to substitute for what may be found in nature–realizing that such naturally occurring materials do exist. But this will get you started.

When the smoke stops coming out the vent hole for a good minute–it is time to take it out. The can cools to the touch within a few minutes and you can check it right then if you want to–so that if is not cooked enough you can put it back on right then.

Char Cloth, or Ash Cloth, as I call it, is easy to make. go to this link to see how I make it.

You can make char wood, char ‘shrooms, and char weeds in the same way, but I recommend doing these in a separate batch. Wood produces a residue when burned which contaminates the cloth if they are burned together.

WP_20151114_034

I did this big batch on the charcoal grill prior to charring some chicken. If I am going to grill some food, I use the start-up time while the coals are getting just right to make the ash cloth. I just place the can in the max heat of the burning charcoal . It will start venting the smoke like a steam engine. If it starts flaming out of the vent hole or sides of the lid, I move it off to the side until it stops and then put it back. I sometimes will turn it upside with a big batch, but if the can is loosely packed, this is not necessary.

When the smoke stops coming out the vent hole for a good minute–it is time to take it out. The can cools to the touch within a few minutes and you can check it right then if you want to–so that if is not cooked enough you can put it back on right then.

Go to this  link for a video and Step by Step Instructions on how I make it. How to Make Char Cloth

 

Leave a Reply

